R.I.P. LEGO Universe

17 11 2011

“Hello Adventurer, today we are very sad to announce that LEGO® Universe will be closing on January 31, 2012. This was a very difficult decision to make, but unfortunately LEGO Universe has not been able to attract the number of members needed to keep the game open. …” (in my mail box on Nov 8).

RandomHoodoo Eclipse was my latest creation but she did not fly further than the Avant Gardens. I’ll be sorry not to go on adventures with her anymore.

I am also thinking about the innovative educators who were introducing LEGO U in their school.

At the beginning of 2011, Knowclue (Marianne Malstrom) introduce LU as an afterschool program. (Browse here the program’s wiki: http://savingtheuniverse.wikispaces.com/)

In May 8, 2011, Knowclue updated her RezEd colleagues on the status of the project:  “Saving the Universe” was a HUGE success in our after school program.  The kids begged us not to end, and so we extended the class an additional 4 weeks.  We just completed a machinima to promote the class to their classmates for our summer program:

 

Check out the session at VWBPE where a LU game designer joined to discuss the potential of using LU in the classroom. Thanks to Fleet for helping me get that documented.  http://savingtheuniverse.wikispaces.com/VWBPE and view the 10 minute video:

I will be writing up my overall observations over the next couple of weeks, but in a nutshell I have to say that LU surpassed my expectations.  I will definitely will continue using it with kids.  2Thumbs up!”

On June 23, Forbes reported some great news from LU:  bit.ly/jfDq5k and I even received a LU membership renewal notice on Nov 5.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

